Brian Norman claims Joyce Crane/Ben Hogan Golf Equipment Company Section Championship

Brian Norman not only won this year's 2015 Joyce Crane / Ben Hogan Golf Equipment Company Section Championship, but also earned an exemption for the 2016 AT&T Byron Nelson tournament. Photo Courtesy: Dennis Forgione
Brian Norman won this year’s 2015 Joyce Crane / Ben Hogan Golf Equipment Company Section Championship and also earned an exemption for the 2016 AT&T Byron Nelson.
Photo Courtesy: Dennis Forgione


AMARILLO, TX – Brian Norman, PGA director of instruction at Hackberry Creek Country Club, claimed the 2015 Joyce Crane / Ben Hogan Golf Equipment Company Section Championship by firing a three-under par 68 in today’s final round. This was Norman’s first Northern Texas PGA Section Individual Major Championship. Norman overcame a five-stroke deficit after posting a round one 73. He notched four birdies and just one bogey during his final round to best the field, finishing with a two-day score of 1-under par 141.

“My first section major…it feels very satisfying,” said Norman after his round. “I was four over with three holes to play yesterday, and made birdie on #16 and #18, which just kind of jump-started me. I have been working hard with my teacher Robert McMillan, and it’s been an up and down year for me, but it really started to take hold the past two days. I really hit the ball well and started making some putts, so that always helps.”

Norman took home a check for $4,250 for his victory, but even more important is the exemption he earned into the 2016 AT&T Byron Nelson.

“I am looking forward to playing in the Nelson. I played in the PGA Championship a couple of years ago at Valhalla, but not the Nelson, so it will be cool. I am sure I will have a couple of people out to watch,” said Norman.

Britt Patton, PGA director of golf at Dallas National Golf Club, finished in second place with a two-day total of 70-72—142 for the Championship.

The Championship also included a Senior Division that was comprised of 24 professionals age 50 and older who elected to compete for a separate $11,050 purse and played from a modified yardage. Ronny Glanton, PGA head professional at Sherrill Park Golf Course, captured the Senior Division with rounds of 76-72—148 to finish the Championship at 6-over par.  He took home a check for $1,475.

The Joyce Crane / Ben Hogan Golf Equipment Company Section Championship, presented by AT&T Byron Nelson, Cutter & Buck, PGA TOUR and Sterling Cut Glass, was conducted at Amarillo Country Club, a 6,937-yard, par 71 course located in Amarillo, Texas. The Open Division field consisted of 62 PGA professionals from the Northern Texas Section of the PGA of America competing for a $28,450 purse.

The Championship was the fourth and final individual stroke play championship of the 2015 season to earn points towards the Yamaha Golf Cars / Lajitas Golf Resort Player of the Year Points Challenge.  The Eastern, Western, NTPGA Professional and Section Championships all served as qualifiers for the year-end Yamaha Golf Cars / Lajitas Golf Resort Match Play Championship presented by Justin Golf and Wee Golf.  The top 32 from the points list will be invited to play in the Championship. With a tie for third place finish today, Stuart Deane, PGA golf coach at The University of Texas at Arlington, is the 2015 Yamaha Golf Cars / Lajitas Golf Resort Player of the Year. The Player of the Year Points Challenge also serves as a qualifier for the 2015 NTPGA Texas Joe Black Cup team.

Final results follow:

Results for contest Open Division:
 1   Brian Norman        Hackberry Creek CC            73-68--141 -1  $4,250.00
 2   Britt Patton        Dallas National GC            70-72--142 E   $2,800.00
 T3  Vince Jewell        Woodbridge GC                 72-71--143 +1  $1,660.00
 T3  Stuart Hendley      Green Tree CC                 72-71--143 +1  $1,660.00
 T3  John Sikes          Hollytree CC                  70-73--143 +1  $1,660.00
 T3  Bruce Smith         Black Belt Golf Academy       71-72--143 +1  $1,660.00
 T3  Stuart Deane        UT Arlington                  68-75--143 +1  $1,660.00
 8   Jon Antunes         Hot Golf, Inc.                76-68--144 +2  $1,300.00
 T9  Troy Denton         The Honors GC Dallas          74-71--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T9  Dean Larsson        Royal Oaks CC                 74-71--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T9  Jeffrey Barton      Preston Trail GC              73-72--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T9  Luke Varner         The Lakes at Castle Hills     73-72--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T9  Michael Martin      Sinclair's Golf Training Ctr  72-73--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T9  Cameron Doan        Preston Trail GC              70-75--145 +3  $1,079.17
 T15 Sam Randolph        Mira Vista CC                 73-73--146 +4  $937.50
 T15 Benjamin Cuzen      Preston Trail GC              72-74--146 +4  $937.50
 T17 Nicholas Griffin    Dallas CC                     76-71--147 +5  $887.50
 T17 Jeremy Davis        Ranchland Hills GC            73-74--147 +5  $887.50
 19  Adam Headley        Hillcrest CC                  70-78--148 +6  $850.00
 T20 Brad Ott            TPC Craig Ranch               75-74--149 +7  $412.50
 T20 Gabe Reynolds       Top Golf - Dallas             74-75--149 +7  $412.50
 T22 Greg Sikes          Hogan Park GC                 79-71--150 +8  
 T22 Jason Daly          Royal Oaks CC                 77-73--150 +8  
 T22 Rick LeBeau         Brook Hollow GC               73-77--150 +8  
 T22 Nick Schumacher     Gentle Creek GC               72-78--150 +8  
 T26 Paul Norris         Texas Wesleyan University     79-72--151 +9  
 T26 Jeremy Langdale     Ranchland Hills GC            76-75--151 +9  
 T26 Thomas Devanna      Tangle Ridge GC               74-77--151 +9  
 T26 Kevin Golding       Four Seasons Resort/Club      72-79--151 +9  
 T30 Robert McMillan     McMillan Golf Academy         77-75--152 +10 
 T30 Chance Blythe       Old Brickyard GC              76-76--152 +10 
 T32 Casey Renner        Palo Duro Creek GC            78-75--153 +11 
 T32 Scott Archer        Northern Texas PGA            78-75--153 +11 
 T32 Tim McElhinny       Bent Tree CC                  77-76--153 +11 
 T35 Brent Lingel        Keeton Park GC                80-74--154 +12 
 T35 J. Lance Patterson  Dallas Athletic Club          78-76--154 +12 
 T35 Rob Stock           Brookhaven CC                 73-81--154 +12 
 T38 Reid Parrish        River Crest CC                77-78--155 +13 
 T38 Simon Buckle        Brook Hollow GC               77-78--155 +13 
 T38 Karl Altheide       AHEAD                         77-78--155 +13 
 T38 Philip Bleakney     The GC of Dallas              76-79--155 +13 
 T38 Brent Blackburn     Gentle Creek GC               74-81--155 +13 
 T38 Clayton Wonnell     Dallas National GC            74-81--155 +13 
 T44 Hunter Hidalgo      Brook Hollow GC               82-74--156 +14 
 T44 Lee Rhind           Midland CC                    81-75--156 +14 
 T44 Clint Avara         Watters Creek                 80-76--156 +14 
 T44 Billy Harris        Dallas CC                     77-79--156 +14 
 48  Eric Hunt           Las Colinas CC                81-76--157 +15 
 49  Jake McGuffey       Hollytree CC                  81-77--158 +16 
 T50 George Simmons      Amarillo CC                   82-77--159 +17 
 T50 Keith Harris        Cross Timbers GC              81-78--159 +17 
 T50 Paul Earnest        Four Seasons Resort/Club      78-81--159 +17