2 Golden Gloves have been awarded to Texas

It seems like there's never a dull moment with YOUR Texas Rangers.

Watch YOUR Texas Rangers at Big Shucks!
Watch YOUR Texas Rangers at Big Shucks!

Brought to you by: Big Shucks

By Alex Al-Kazzaz

Adrian Beltre and Mitch Moreland have won the Rawlings golden glove awards. They won the awards at their individual positions.  For Beltre, this is his fifth Golden Glove award and for Moreland, this is the first in his career.

Moreland is the third Texas Rangers first baseman to win a Golden Glove award. Rafael Palmeiro in 1999 and Mark Teixeira in 2005 and 2006. In 2016, Moreland blasted 22 homeruns, batted .233, and batted in 60 RBIs. Moreland is currently a free agent and he’s very likely to sign with another team. If he signs elsewhere, he will be missed.

In the history of the Texas Rangers a golden glove has been awarded to a third baseman nine times, but only two have won it. Beltre has won it three times in a Rangers uniform and Buddy Bell who won six consecutive Golden Gloves from 1979-1984. At the age of 37, Beltre is the oldest third baseman to win a golden glove since Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson won on in 1975 at the age of 38.

This is the first time since 2005 that the Rangers have multiple Golden Glove winners. Kenny Rogers and Mark Teixeria both won Golden Gloves that year. This is also the ninth time in franchise history that the have had multiple Golden Glove winners, but it’s also the first time that neither a pitcher or catcher has won it.