Golden State Wins the 2022 NBA Championship

Steve Kerr has been the Head Coach for all four of the Warriors latest run on league championships.
Photo Courtesy: Michael Kolch

By DaVince “Dino” Wright

I picked the Warriors in 7, well they did it in 6! The Warriors are a great team that had the worst record in the NBA two years ago and now they are champs! Let’s not take anything away from the Celtics believe it or not. They will be back. Game 6 was everything that everyone thought it would be. The Warriors have 4 rings in 8 years. That’s an accomplishment that very few teams can say. Andre Iguodola, Klay Thompson, Steph Curry, Kevon Looney and Draymond Green have 4 rings with the Warriors. Steph Curry has been named NBA Finals MVP Bill Russell Award (its his first). The Warriors have played in 6 NBA Finals in 8 years. Steph Curry is one of the best shooters that I have ever seen in my 35 years of watching the NBA.

Take Your Pick?
In the last 15 years, one can say that Steph Curry is the best. LeBron James has 4 titles but it took him 17 years to do it while Steph did it in 13. There are some talented players that have played in the NBA Finals, but winning this one is special. Klay Thompson and dad Michael Thompson are a set of 5 father/son combos that have won a title. You can add Gary Payton and Gary Payton II to the list as well. The NBA has so much growth heading our way.

Talent is Everything
The Celtics are young and scrappy and they will be back for years to come. Look for Jayson Tatum, Jaylen Brown and Marcus Smart to continue to mesh and gain more experience while playing together in Bean Town. The Celtics will be a staple in the Eastern Conference for years to come. The Golden State Warriors can repeat with key players in backup roles. Look for this team to make more noise in the Western Conference.

Next Year…
While standing on the stage being interviewed by Lisa Salters, Draymond Green announced to the world, “Welcome to the Warriors invitational!” The Warriors will be the team to beat next year. Andrew Wiggins, James Wiseman, Jonathan Kuminga, Otto Porter, Jr and Jordan Poole will make there moves for years to come!